California | Family Law
Legal Question
Can I keep birth parents away from my adopted child?
My child's birth parents terminated all parental rights 6 or 7 years ago. One of the birth parents moved to our town and then discovered my child was here. My child ran into the birth parent without me being there and has since run into that parent a few more times, without me there. The parent says ''You can move in with me when you're 18 or 16'' Or the birth parent wants to stop by our house when I'm not home. This person has a history of abduction according to my child's former school. My child is worried about the possibility of being kidnapped or even coerced into going with the birth parent. Can I get a restraining order or something so that this person can't get close to my child?


