Re: what should i do
Dear Inquirer:
Nothing herein shall create an attorney-client relationship, unless a written retainer agreement is executed by the attorney and client. This communication contains general information only. Nothing herein shall constitute an attorney-client communication nor legal advice. There likely are deadlines and time-limits associated with your case; you should contact an attorney of your choice for legal advice specific to your personal situation, at once.
If you haven't already done so, please visit my
web site at --
http://home.pacbell.net/edbjr/ OR
http://www.CaliforniaDivorceAttorney.com
The site contains quite a bit of general information about California Family Law, Tenants' Rights, and Juvenile Dependencies, and EDD hearings and appeals, as well as information about me (education, experience, et cetera) and my office (location, hours, fees, policies).
NOW, IN RESPONSE TO YOUR INQUIRY --
The facts that you have provided are not clear
enough and/or complete enough to provide a
definitive answer to you inquiry. Here's what needs to be done:
1. If he has not done so already (by marriage to the mother or paternity action), your boyfriend has to establish himself as the child's LEGAL father.
2. If there is no COURT CUSTODY ORDER, he needs to get one (in the child's home state, which probably still is California).
3. If there is a COURT CUSTODY ORDER, he needs to have it modified in the state that issued the most recent order (providing someone still lives in that state).
You should consider contacting an experienced Family Law attorney in the child's home county or the county where the most recent court custody order originated for specific advise and possible representation on your behalf.
Thanks for sharing your interesting inquiry with
us on LawGuru, and good luck with your case.