California | Family Law
Legal Question
My brother's wife recently moved out and took custody of his two children, aged 14 and 10. She has told the children not to tell my brother, their dad, the address at which they now live or she will give them a hard time (threatened them). My brother is currently unemployed, but has been interviewing actively (unemployed for about six months so far due to a layoff). My brother had been paying the $2,000/month rent on the house they have been living in for over ten years. Does he have legal recourse to get custody, even partiallly, of his kids? Did his wife break the law by "kidnapping" the children? Many thanks. This is in Southern California.


