California  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 3/06/12, 5:48 pm

California Family Law Question At what age can a child go to court and tell the court who she wants to live with as her primary parent even thou she is 9 yrs old now.

3 Answers


Answered on: 3/06/12, 6:33 pm by Timothy McCormick

A fairly recent statute gives that right to 14 year olds and up. Younger than that it is in the court's discretion whether to hear from the child or not. At any age, however, the court is under NO obligation to actually follow the child's wishes. The court must make its own determination what is in the "best interests of the minor child," and the child's wishes are only one piece of evidence in that determination. How much weight that evidence has depends entirely on the child's maturity and apparent character and wisdom, the issues in the case, and all the other evidence before the court.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 201 Spear St., Suite 1100 San Francisco, CA 94105

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 3/07/12, 7:14 am by Arlene Kock

Also note that it is ultimately in the courts discretion on permitting a child to participate in this fashion. Even if a child is 14 or older, the court can elect not to let the child proceed under this statute if the judge feels it's in the child's best interest.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Arlene D .Kock APLC 2500 Old Crow Canyon Road Suite 214 San Ramon, CA 94583

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

102 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search