California  |  Family Law

question bubble
10/31/09, 3:42 pm

Legal Question


What are my chances of receiving child support for two children?.I heard because he has a lot bills that I wouldn't receive much!. Is that true?


question bubble
11/05/09, 4:12 pm

Legal Answer


No, too many bills is not a legal reason to deny child support. There is a formula that the court's apply to determine the amount of child support you will receive. The formula takes in to account various factors including custodial time share and income of the parties. If you are interested in requesting child support, I suggest you contact the Department of Child Support Services, the Family Court facilitator or a local family law attorney. You are also welcome to contact my office for a 30 minute (free) consultation. Best of Luck!

Erin Levine

Levine Law Group, LLP
5801 Christie Ave, Ste. 387
Emeryville, CA 94608

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/05/09, 4:12 pm

Legal Answer


It depends on what the bills are for. Child support is based on income, not expenses, although some expenses are deducted from income before calculating the amount due.

Timothy McCormick

Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
1990 N. California Blvd., 8th Fl
Walnut Creek, CA 94596

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search