California | Family Law
Legal Question
Last Name Change
I had a child out of wedlock. Can the childs father force me to change the childs last name from my maiden name to his last name?
Last Name Change
I had a child out of wedlock. Can the childs father force me to change the childs last name from my maiden name to his last name?
|
Read More Answered By: Ken Koury |
Re: Last Name Change no |
|
Read More Answered By: E. Daniel Bors Jr. |
Re: Last Name Change Dear Inquirer:
Nothing herein shall create an attorney-client relationship, unless a written retainer agreement is executed by the attorney and client. This communication contains general information only. Nothing herein shall constitute an attorney-client communication nor legal advice. There likely are deadlines and time-limits associated with your case; you should contact an attorney of your choice for legal advice specific to your personal situation, at once.
If you haven't already done so, please visit my web site at --
http://home.pacbell.net/edbjr/ OR
http://www.CaliforniaDivorceAttorney.com
The site contains quite a bit of general information about California Family Law, Tenants' Rights, and Juvenile Dependencies, and EDD hearings and appeals, as well as information about me (education, experience, et cetera) and my office (location, hours, fees, policies).
NOW IN RESPONSE TO YOUR INQUIRY --
The name on a minor's birth certificate or other official records cannot be change without the CONSENT of BOTH parents.
Thanks for sharing your interesting inquiry with us on LawGuru, and good luck with your case. |
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
La Mesa, CA
Questions Answered: 2217
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Covina, CA
Questions Answered: 1088
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-21
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 977
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-27
► Credit Cards and checking account My 8 year relationship has ended in the last 2...
► Changing my sons last name. When my son was born my ex-girlfriend put her last name...
► Married in 2 different states to same person I recently filed for a legal...
► How can we find out if my husband is legally divorced from first wife. Mu hsuband...
► Custody reversal My exboyfriend and I have joint custody of one child. We are in the...
► Going on vacation would like to take stepkids??? I am going on vacation with my new...
► Rights of the injured worker in a divorce case against ex-spouse I am permenantly...
More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press