California | Family Law
Legal Question
Change of name for minor 10 year old son
I would like to change my son's (10 yrs old) name back to mine. I was never married to the father and have had sole legal and physical custody for 9 years. Last year I agreed after much harassment to give him joint legal (he only sees him every other weekend). I would like to know (because his father will object) what the court considers in granting the name change (what standards have to be met to consider it ''in the best interest of my son'') or whether it would create more of problem than it is worth. His father has a past history of criminal and civil restraining orders against him and jail time (not within the past 2 years) although now he is married and has one child. I would like to do this because there is always confusion at schools, sports, insurance etc and I feel at the time of his birth I thought we were going to be together or get married which never happened and thus would like to just change his name.


