California  |  Family Law

question bubble
10/17/06, 12:40 pm

Legal Question


Child Support Settlement

My husband was approached by his ex to settle on the child support arrears. She is willing to settle on 1/3 of the back support in addition to closing the case. We are currently paying $550/mo diligently. Question is, if we go through this settlement legally (through the courts), can his ex re-open the child support case after the fact? We are somehow leary about embarking on this type of settlement when all she has done is throw screw balls at us for years. Also, would something like this be taken care of through the county court where the case originated or is it done outside of that with the retainment of private counsel? The case is with LA County.

Please advise and many thanks!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search