California | Family Law
Legal Question
Collecting on a Asset Division
We went to court in September. My ex wife was awarded a car at a value of $7000. I was awarded a car at a value of $2000.
Since the ex received a value of a car of $7000 and I received one with a value of $2000 I would be entitled to an equalization payment from her, right?
$5000 difference in her favor. Divide this in half, she owes me under California law an equalization payment of $ 2500.
Can I take her to small claims court to recover these funds? I have asked her for the payment but she ignores me and I need the money.


