California | Family Law
Legal Question
Common law marraige
IS CA STILL A COMMON LAW STATE AND WHAT ARE MY RISKS? i'M ENDING A 71/2 YEAR RELATIONSHIP WHERE WE NEVER JOINED OUR BANK ACCTS ETC. I PURCHASED A MOBILE HOME FOR CASH ABOUT 6 YEARS AGO SO FOR ABOUT 6 YEARS OUR ONLY EXPENSES WERE SPACE RENT AND UTILITIES FOOD WHICH WE SPLIT EQUALLY. 1 YEAR AGO I PURCHASED A HOME IN MY NAME WITH MY MONEY. MY FORMER PARTNER CONTINUED TO PAY $700 MO FOR 1/2 OF HIS LIVING EXPENSES AND UPPED IT TO $900 PER MONTH A FEW MONTHS AGO. THE HOME AND ASSOC PMT ALONE ARE ABOUT $1500. I MADE THE DOWN PAYMENT AND EXCROW ON MY OWN. AM I IN TROUBLE HERE?
THANK YOU, LINDA


