California | Family Law
Legal Question
Court Order
How long does a court order last? Does it ever expire?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Laurence Haines |
Re: Court Order This a very general question, so I will give a general answer.
Unless the court order expires under its own terms, it theoretically is good forever.
However, if a court order benefits someone and that someone fails to enforce the court order, then the legal doctrine of "laches" might kick in.
What this means is that if a person who the order burdens comes to rely upon the failure of the person who the order benefits asserting their rights under the order, then as time passes, it might not be 'fair' or 'equitable' to the order's continuing enforceabliy.
Hope this helps. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10408
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office Of Patrick L. McCrary
La Mesa, CA
Questions Answered: 2217
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices of Phillip C. Lemmons
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1455
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Office of Brian Don Levy
Covina, CA
Questions Answered: 1088
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-21
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Law Offices James Chau
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 977
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-27
Search Questions and Answers


