California  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 12/19/11, 3:34 pm

My daughter lives with her mother in california but wants to live with me in colorado. Can she choose who to live with ?

5 Answers


Answered on: 12/19/11, 4:23 pm by Timothy McCormick

No. The child's wishes is only one factor in the court's determination of what custody order would be in the child's best interests.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 201 Spear St., Suite 1100 San Francisco, CA 94105

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 12/19/11, 4:29 pm by Michael Schneider

The child's wishes is taken into consideration. So, yes, her wishes do in fact count. A lot will depend on how she represents in mediation. If you proceed, then you should have a qualified family law attorney represent you. Good luck!


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Family Law Center 4121 Mission Inn AVe. Riverside, CA 92501

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 12/20/11, 7:47 am by Arlene Kock

A threshold question that must be addressed is how old is te child. If she is a mature teenager, the court can consider the child's desires. If the child is young, it's unlikely that the child's request will be weighed into the parenting equation but it could be justification to assess if the family needs counseling to address issues giving rise to the child's request to change custody.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Arlene D .Kock APLC 2500 Old Crow Canyon Road Suite 214 San Ramon, CA 94583

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

133 Answers given in the last few hours.

8661 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search