California | Family Law
Legal Question
how much is getting a divorce ? and to do we have to go court to get that divorce? we been separated for 2 years and have one child at 13 year old. my daughter want to live with me. can you choose in court who to live with.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Timothy McCormick |
How much a divorce costs is impossible to say without any information about the family, the finances and how much one or both people will want to fight about things. The filing fee is a few hundred dollars. If you are reasonably sophisticated and neither one wants to fight about anything, you can pick up How to Do Your Own Divorce In California, from Nolo Press books and get some help from the Family Law Faciliator's office in your local court, and do it for very little. You do have to go to court. Only a court can grant a divorce. A 13 year old cannot choose who she lives with, but if she is mature, the court will listen to her and take her wishes into account. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office Of Patrick L. McCrary
La Mesa, CA
Questions Answered: 2217
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices of Phillip C. Lemmons
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Brian Don Levy
Covina, CA
Questions Answered: 1088
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-21
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Law Offices James Chau
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 977
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-27
Search Questions and Answers


