California  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 9/05/13, 2:44 pm

If I filed for divorce in California and my spouse filed in Arizona who's divorce goes through? I served her my papers first and turned in the proof of service. So which state will our divorce go through and who will be the petitioner?

3 Answers


Answered on: 9/05/13, 2:55 pm by Timothy McCormick

That's a more complicated problem than you may think, and may require one of you to "surrender" to get a final binding judgment. If you have been living in different states a long time, each court may have jurisdiction to issue a bare divorce, but not have personal jurisdiction to issue support orders or divide property. So you may have a stand-off until one of you agrees to litigate in the other's state. It also depends on things like how long each of you has lived in your respective states, whether there are children, and how long they have been living in what state. If there are children and they have been living in one state primarily for at least six months, the other state will almost invariably abstain from exercising jurisdiction over the case, even if there is otherwise equal or divided jurisdiction.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 201 Spear St., Suite 1100 San Francisco, CA 94105

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/05/13, 3:52 pm by Anthony Roach

I agree with Mr. McCormick. Right now it depends on which state has personal jurisdiction, and whether the spouse's are going to challenge the other state's exercise of jurisdiction over them. My big question to you is whether you have been served with the Arizona divorce first, and whether you have grounds or plans to contest jurisdiction?


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/05/13, 4:16 pm by BARRY BESSER

The previous two answers pretty much set forth the basic issues.

BARRY BESSER

www.besserlaw.com


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


LAW OFFICES OF BARRY I. BESSER 5000 Birch Street, West Tower, Ste. 3000 Newport Beach, CA 92660

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search