Re: Foreign divorce
Dear Inquirer:
Nothing herein shall create an attorney-client
relationship, unless a written retainer agreement
is executed by the attorney and client. This
communication contains general information only.
Nothing herein shall constitute an attorney-client
communication nor legal advice. There likely are
deadlines and time-limits associated with your
case; you should contact an attorney of your
choice for legal advice specific to your personal
situation, at once.
If you haven't already done so, please visit my
web site at --
http://home.pacbell.net/edbjr/ OR
http://www.CaliforniaDivorceAttorney.com
The site contains quite a bit of general
information about California Family Law, Tenants'
Rights, and Juvenile Dependencies, and EDD
hearings and appeals, as well as information
about me (education, experience, et cetera)
and my office (location, hours, fees, policies).
NOW, IN RESPONSE TO YOUR INQUIRY --
The facts that you have provided are not clear
enough and/or complete enough to provide a
definitive answer to you inquiry; however, California
will recognize a valid divorce from most foreign
countries. Given that you both signed
papers, the requirement of NOTICE and OPPORTUNITY
to be heard probably has been met. Marital status
probably cannot be challenged (you both are single
persons now). Other aspects of the divorce may be
able to be challenged or modified, under certain
circumstances.
Thanks for sharing your interesting inquiry with
us on LawGuru, and good luck with your case.