California  |  Family Law

question bubble
9/02/10, 11:35 am

Legal Question


what forms do i need to file for a divorce in Ca? We have been separated for nearly a year, he lives in Missouri and I in Ca. Our kids are grown and we have no real property or assets to divide.


question bubble
9/07/10, 12:10 pm

Legal Answer


I highly recommend the book "How to Do Your Own Divorce In California" by Nolo Press. It will walk you through the whole process of a simple divorce step by step. If you run into problems, you can also make an appointment with the Family Law Facilitator's office for help. They can't give legal advice, but they can help with forms and procedures.

Timothy McCormick

Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 1990 N. California Blvd., 8th Fl Walnut Creek, CA 94596

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
9/07/10, 12:51 pm

Legal Answer


If you want to do it yourself, the book recommended by Mr. McCormick is excellent. It is usually available at the local county law library, and explains step by step how to fill out the forms. You can access the forms for free at the California Court's website:

http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/

Anthony Roach

Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 18563 Clark Street #107 Tarzana, CA 91356-3439

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search