California  |  Family Law

question bubble
9/03/10, 10:12 pm

Legal Question


My husband and I have been married for 4.5 years when he filed for a divorce. We had been living together for 2 years prior to the wedding. Does it mean that I am entitled to the alimony money, even though our "official" marriage is less than five years? He is earning approximately $70,000 annually and I earn approximately $6,000 annually working part-time in a non-profit, and also go to school part-time.

We will share a joint custody of our son 50/50, and haven't decided on a child support yet.

Also, can he claim at the court, that I do not need support because I am capable of earning more with my experience and education and should therefore change my job?

Thank you for responses!


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search