California | Family Law
Legal Question
Illegal Child Support Order
I recently found out that my ex-wife has a order of support against me in the amount of $1750 per month. I was never informed that there was a court date or that she needed more money than what I have been sending. She has informed me (after I called her to see what this was all about) that she went to the court and told them that I made $8,000 per month and they came up with this amount of support. I am at a total loss how the court would do this without any proff from her that I make that amount.
BTW I do not make anywhere near that much. In fact I am in the military (low ranking) and they are now taking money out of my pay.
From what she has told me, this order is now nearly a year old and I owe many thousands of dollars. Being that there is money being deducted out of my pay every month now (half of my pay which only comes to $700per month...half of $1500), can an arrest warrant be issued for non-payment because all of the money that is now in arrears, even though my pay is being deducted and technically I am paying? I am going to have to return to California to handle this but I worry that a warrant is out for me for this mess. Am I ok because I am actually paying (by garnishment), but much less than the order?


