California | Family Law
10/27/09, 8:19 pm
Legal Question
Are inherited items during a marriage considered community property in a divorce?
Are inherited items during a marriage considered community property in a divorce?
|
Read More Answered By: Erin Levine |
They are usually considered separate property of the spouse who inherited the item. Therefore, they are not subject to division unless the property has been commingled with community assets/funds. |
|
Read More Answered By: Brian Levy, Esq. |
In a general sense, inherited assets start out as separate property when they are received. If they become comingled with community assets, then they can become community property unless they are traced back to separate property.
For a specific opinion regarding your unique circumstances, you should consult with an experienced family law lawyer. Experience is not expensive, it's prriceless!. You can find some additional information at my web site www.calattorney.com.
Regards,
Brian Levy, Esq. |
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
La Mesa, CA
Questions Answered: 2217
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Covina, CA
Questions Answered: 1088
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-21
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 977
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-27
► Hi, I'm submitting this question for my friend. She has been married to her husband...
► Can I file for a legal separation living up the same roof as my spouse?
► How can me and my husband file settlement paperwork for out divorce because we are...
► I have a 4 year old daughter who's biological father has never met her, and has been...
► Do i need an attorney if ex-wife has one for a mediation hearing
► When both parents have legal and physical custody, who pays for child support?
► What do i do if i got served child support papers claiming have a child with a...
More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press