California  |  Family Law

question bubble
4/19/10, 12:57 pm

Legal Question


I would like to legally take my husband's name, however, I would like to continue to use my maiden name professionally which, I would like to make my middle name. For example, if my maiden name were Jane Marie Doe and I married John Douglas Smith, I would be changing my name to Jane Doe Smith. There are two parts to my question:

1) Would this be an issue, legally?

2) I do a lot of contract work for my business. Would I have to sign my name with my legal name (Jane Smith)? Or, since my maiden name will still be my middle name, could I sign the contract with my maiden name (Jane Doe)?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search