California  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/19/13, 1:21 pm

I live in calif. My parents have a living trust with me as the only beneficiary. If I divorce my wife, can she have any claim to it?

3 Answers


Answered on: 6/19/13, 2:20 pm by Timothy McCormick

Not as long as you maintain all proceeds separate from your community property assets and accounts.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 201 Spear St., Suite 1100 San Francisco, CA 94105

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/19/13, 6:29 pm by Anthony Roach

No, not unless she is a named beneficiary. Anything you inherit is your separate property, and as Mr. McCormick points out, you need to avoid commingling anything you inherit from community property.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/23/13, 9:34 pm by John Laurie

The trust document will control who gets what upon death.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gertz and Laurie 18321 Ventura Boulevard Suite 900 Tarzana, CA 91356

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search