Re: minor name change, second parent not able to locate
Dear Inquirer:
Nothing herein shall create an attorney-client relationship, unless a written retainer agreement is executed by the attorney and client. This communication contains general information only. Nothing herein shall constitute an attorney-client communication nor legal advice. There likely are deadlines and time-limits associated with your case; you should contact an attorney of your choice for legal advice specific to your personal situation, at once.
If you haven't already done so, please visit my
web site at --
http://home.pacbell.net/edbjr/ OR
http://www.CaliforniaDivorceAttorney.com
The site contains quite a bit of general information about California Family Law, Tenants' Rights, and Juvenile Dependencies, and EDD hearings and appeals, as well as information about me (education, experience, et cetera) and my office (location, hours, fees, policies).
NOW, IN RESPONSE TO YOUR INQUIRY --
You may petition the court in Hawaii for a name change UNLESS there has been any kind of court order regarding the child (paternity, custody, visitation, support, etc.) made by a California court AND the father still resides in California. In said case, California retains exclusive and continuing jurisdiction. If there has been a California order and you are not certain if father is still residing in California, but that IS his last know address, you probably should procede in California, with service of the father by publication.
Thanks for sharing your interesting inquiry with
us on LawGuru, and good luck with your case.