California  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/02/05, 10:43 am

Legal Question


Minor wants independence, automobile insurance liability

I have a 17 year old that simply refuses to follow the very simple rules of the house, like coming home at a descent hour. He is threatening to move out and learn his lessons on his own. If he moves out, I feel I need to stop paying his car insurance but I know he can’t afford it on his own. He has eight months before he is 18, and if he goes those eight months without insurance and gets in an accident, obviously the involved party can sue the parent or legal guardian. Is there a way to have him sign a form or something that would hold up in court that says we are not responsible? Or would that require emancipation? What is a desperate parent to do? Thanks so much ahead of time. B


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search