Legal Question in Family Law in California

My mother passed away almost a year ago, and her 2nd husband has refused to let go of her cremains. He has cut off contact also with her remaining family. By law would I be able to obtain my mothers cremains? He did not pay for her cremation either. Her two daughter paid for it aswell as her own sister. He since then has gotten remarried with in 7 months of her passing.

Asked on 11/11/10, 6:15 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony Roach Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Unfortunately, as the surviving spouse, he has priority to direct what to do with her remains.

Read more
11/17/10, 2:18 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8809 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now