Legal Question in Family Law in California

In my original divorce decree it states that my ex husband can claim our sons for tax purposes as long as he is current on all the obligations stated in our divorce decree. I have already had to take my ex husband back to court for contempt. He is suppose to be paying back child support and other payments he decided not to make and currently in contempt again for not making those payments and deciding upon himself that child support will go down due to our oldest child turning 18, though he lawyer put in a motion to modify using old salary numbers. My question is this. Come next tax season would I be able to claim my sons for tax purposes? They rarely see their father and when I made this agreement there were alot of factors in place. One my ex was getting scary with alot of threats and crazy actions and we both lived in the same state. We have both since moved out of Florida and he doesnt bother with anyone of the kids other than my 14 year old son. Any insight would be helpful.

Asked on 6/24/13, 7:58 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Gary R. White Burton & White
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

This forum concerns California law. Your question appears to be related to a Florida divorce decree. You need to find a Florida Law forum.

Read more
6/25/13, 2:16 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88177 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
David SlaterDavid P. Slater, Esq.Boca Raton, FL
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now