California | Family Law
Legal Question
palimony
do I have any rights? I have been with the same man for more then 11 years and we have two children. with in that time we have gotten a house .
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Laurence Haines |
Re: palimony If you are not married, you have no legal rights such as community property as if you were married. In other words, what is yours is yours and what is his is his. When it comes to the house, it depends on how title is held. If your name is on title, then you have some interest in the house. If not, then you might have some right of reimbursement if you contributed to the purchase or the mortgage payments.
If you two were to split, then there are certain obligations incurred by the non-custodial parent. The parent who does not have the children would probably owe child support for the kids. This is dependent on the amount of time the kids are with each parent and the incomes of the parents.
Hope this helps. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office Of Patrick L. McCrary
La Mesa, CA
Questions Answered: 2217
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices of Phillip C. Lemmons
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Brian Don Levy
Covina, CA
Questions Answered: 1088
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-21
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Law Offices James Chau
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 977
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-27
Search Questions and Answers


