California | Family Law
Legal Question
At what point does inheritance become community property?
My husband and i have been together 20 yrs. we've been married 5 years abd have a 16 year old son. Last year my husband and his brother bought a parcel of land from thier mom. A few mo. later she died and left them $25,000.00 each. They then took the money and built a home on the lot and sold it for $200,000.00. At what point, if any, does this money or any portion of it become community property?Even though my name was not on the title when the lot was purchased wasn't it technically community property since we are married?


