California  |  Family Law

question bubble
10/06/03, 7:39 pm

Legal Question


Pre-marital debt

My husband has a promissory note owing his parents over $115,000, which he made with them prior to our marriage of 12 years. He still owes them $100,000 after monthly payments of $850 throughout our marriage. We have other debts amounting to about $65,000 plus owe the IRS $10,000, (which will probably increase another $10,000 for this year). I have not worked in lieu of raising our children. Now I am faced with half of these debts and no real assets. The note payment severely hindered our ability to pay monthly debts - a major contributing factor to our debt load. Consequently, do I have any recourse to reduce my share of total debts by incorporating these $850/mo payments over 12 years of marriage?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search