Re: Property settlement of assets acquired before marriage
Dear Inquirer:
Nothing herein shall create an attorney-client relationship, unless a written retainer agreement is executed by the attorney and client. This communication contains general information only. Nothing herein shall constitute an attorney-client communication nor legal advice. There likely are deadlines and time-limits associated with your case; you should contact an attorney of your choice for legal advice specific to your personal situation, at once.
If you haven't already done so, please visit my
web site at --
http://home.pacbell.net/edbjr/ OR
http://www.CaliforniaDivorceAttorney.com
The site contains quite a bit of general information about California Family Law, Tenants' Rights, and Juvenile Dependencies, as well as information about me (education, experience, et cetera) and my office (location, hours, fees, policies).
NOW, IN RESPONSE TO YOUR INQUIRY --
Provided there is a clear paper trail and no comingling of funds, the property would probably be characterized as separate property. If there is/was a mortgage that was paid with community funds/earnings, the community probably has a claim for reimbursement of those funds or they may be considered a gift to the separate property estate, depending upon the specific facts of the situation.
Thanks for sharing your interesting inquiry with us on LawGuru, and good luck with your case.