California  |  Family Law

question bubble
10/30/09, 5:03 pm

Legal Question


I am getting ready to marry a lady in California that has a 11 year old daughter and a 14 year old boy. Their Dad lives in SanDiego about 45 miles away. I live in NC. They have joint legal custody. She however is the primary caregiver as he sees them only some weekends and keeps them for about 3 weeks in the summer. I am moving to Oceanside for a number of years to make it easier on the children. My job may require me to return to NC. If so he threatened to cut off child support and prevent them from leaving the state. Is this something he can do? We would only go back east if there were no other options for our work. We would go if she or I lost our jobs...we just could not afford to stay in California. What would the law say in this situation?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search