California | Family Law
Legal Question
Relocation across the country.
My ex and I have no court ordered visitation with our 3 1/2 year old. He rarely sees her (every 3 months or so.) Of his own accord. And he pays no support of any kind. He has a history of reckless driving and of drugs and violence. My Fiancee and I (he's been raising my daughter as his own for half of her life.) Want to move from California to New York for better jobs and housing. She is not close to my ex's side of the family(they do not see her either.) and does not know him as her father. I know he will not let her move willingly as he likes the option of occasionally pretending to be a dad.(Though he's just had a baby with his girlfriend, who also has a record of reckless driving.) I need to know where my rights are as her primary caregiver, and what I need to do to get the ball rolling on relocating.


