Legal Question in Family Law in California

I've been separated for 3 years -- finally, the divorce is underway. I have a 401K that is partially community property. The value has changed since our separation date, and will presumably change some more before the divorce is finalized. What is the relevant date, as far as the balance that will be divided? Thanks.

Asked on 8/15/13, 9:08 pm

2 Answers from Attorneys

Anthony Roach Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The date of separation.

Read more
Answered on 8/16/13, 8:28 am
John Laurie Gertz and Laurie
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Mr Roach is correct.

Read more
Answered on 8/16/13, 8:56 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now