Legal Question in Family Law in California

My sister was involved in a domestic violence incident with her husband. He was on the bed, attempting to strangle her when she reached into her bedside table and cut him with a knife in self-defense. However, she panicked and told officers that it was a nail file. She would like to make things right by telling the truth, and she understands that charges will be involved. What should she prepared to face once she speaks with the sheriffs?

Asked on 7/28/13, 8:46 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony Roach Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

She should get a criminal defense attorney and speak to that attorney and not the sheriff.

Read more
Answered on 7/28/13, 9:58 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88693 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now