California | Family Law
Legal Question
Slandered and Tainted Case
During a civil hearing, in which I was both the defendant and plaintiff, a high-ranking police official personally telephoned the court, department and judge that was to preside over my case the night before my hearing and "said very nasty things" about me. I learned this the morning of the hearing from my attorney, and the judge's clerk. Totally unrelated to my case, this police official slandered me, hoping to taint my case, which he may possibly have done. While a mediator presided over the case, moments before our case, we saw this same mediator walking out of the police station - the same station this police official works out of.
I unfortunately don't feel I received a fair hearing. What are my options here? Can I appeal the mediator's decision and sue this police official for slander? Thank you for your prompt attention in this matter. I look forward to hearing from you soon.


