California  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 9/03/13, 2:44 pm

My spouse is awarded a vehicle in a divorce. Does she have to pick the vehicle up personally or am I required to release it to whomever she chooses?

4 Answers


Answered on: 9/03/13, 4:52 pm by Robert Kubler

No and no.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Kubler Law Firm 21250 Hawthorne Blvd, Suite 500 Torrance, CA 90503

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/04/13, 10:26 am by Timothy McCormick

Gosh, that was a really helpful answer from Mr. Kubler, NOT. The real answer is if she has a right to the car, she can let whomever she wants drive it, including picking it up from you and driving it away. What you should be more concerned with than any control battle between you and her over who picks it up, is making damned sure you are off title and it is on her insurance before she lets anyone drive it.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 201 Spear St., Suite 1100 San Francisco, CA 94105

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/04/13, 6:32 pm by Zadik Shapiro

You probably want to make sure that whoever picks it up has a driver's license.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of C. Zadik Shapiro 15 Boardman Pl. San Francisco, CA 94103

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/24/13, 12:05 pm by Robert Kubler

"Gosh" - Wondering what I meant McCormick? He asked whether he was required to release it. Nothing in the law says he is required to release it to anyone but the owner. He only has a lack of liability if he has reasonable belief the third party has permission to take it. Based only on the facts given I wouldn't assume it.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Kubler Law Firm 21250 Hawthorne Blvd, Suite 500 Torrance, CA 90503

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

133 Answers given in the last few hours.

8661 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search