California  |  Family Law

question bubble
3/27/01, 11:57 pm

Legal Question


Former spouse neglecting payment responsibility

Amidst difficult communication with former spouse and his current wife (which bordered on harassment), the continuing issue of payment of child care/child support expenses has arisen.

I am again faced with another issue with his resistance to pay the required ½ fee of childcare expenses. When I remind him of his obligations, I am insulted and accused of not taking my child’s best interest to heart. He has, in the past, deducted from the child support for expenses incurred for her needs (dentist, doctor) without consulting me. I have paid numerous fees for her needs and expenses, however I view that as the cost of raising a child.

We have had nothing but troublesome discussions for several years and despite my attempts to just be fair, I am disgusted and tired of dealing with him. The only documented child-care/custody agreement was at the time of our divorce, which was approximately 8 years ago. Do I have cause to take this issue back to court?

Despite drastic changes in my financial situation and the additional monetary duty to two other children, I have bore that responsibility. I am interested in options I have to resolving this situation, so I can stop taking the brunt of the insults.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search