California | Family Law
7/26/10, 5:03 pm
Legal Question
how to stop spousal support by proofing ex is legally married through common law?
how to stop spousal support by proofing ex is legally married through common law?
|
Read More Answered By: Anthony Roach |
California doesn't have common law marriage. California has not had common law marriage since 1872. We have computers now, and flying cars. |
|
Read More Answered By: Timothy McCormick |
Mr. Roach's smart-ass answer aside, he is correct that California does not recognize common law marriage, and in fact that is an exception to the general rule that we do recognize marrigages if they were legal in the state in which they were formed (the other main one being out-of-state same-sex marriages due to Prop 8). HOWEVER, there is also a provision in the Family Code that provides a presumption that spousal support shoudl be adjusted downward if the former spouse is cohabitating with a member of the opposite sex. So you may, in fact, be entitled to an adjustment. But don't get too excited. You will need to look at your divorce judgment to see if the court reserved jurisdiction to modify spousal support. If not, you're probably out of luck unless you were married over ten years. IF you were married more than ten years, or the judgment provides for modifictions, however, then you may be in luck. You would have to file a motion to modify the support order. |
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10409
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
La Mesa, CA
Questions Answered: 2217
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1455
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Covina, CA
Questions Answered: 1088
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-21
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 977
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-27
► I live in the state of California and have joint physical and legal custody of my...
► California requirements for a legal separation involving custody of a minor child
► How much is getting a divorce ? and to do we have to go court to get that divorce?...
► How do you get emancipated in California with parents with ssi?
► The father of my 1 year old decided he would not be involved in our daughter's life...
► If I change attorneys for a family court matter will I be required by the court to...
► We are needing to file with the court a request to finish an adoption in the county...
More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press