California | Family Law
Legal Question
Termination of father's rights
Hello. My divorce was final October 28, 2000. I was awarded full custody, no visitation for the father, because he was AWOL from the Marine Corps and wanted by the Military Police so he was a felon. I was denied child support because he was nowhere to be located and so I did the divorce through the paper. He has been caught since then adn kicked out of the military. I haven't heard from him since May of 2000. He was never told we were divorced. He has NEVER supported his son nor has he ever supported me. He hasn't seen his son since September 1999, my son was 4 months then. I was wondering if I can terminate his right and if so, How do I go about it. Also if I can, can I also change my son's name back to my maiden name. I am recently remarried and my husband is thinking about adopting my son and we don't want to go threw his father, because his father might be revengful. Therefore it would be easy for me to have all the rights. I know that my ex sometimes stays with his mother. Can I register mail the papers to him? Im just curious cause I need this done as soon as possible. Thank you. This all took place in Riverside County California


