California | Medical Leave
Legal Question
I was Dx breast cancer back in Nov, 2005. In 2006 I went through chemo and radiation which put me off work for 9 months with no problems with my employer, I went back to work on my same station same facility with no problem as a certified nurse assistant. I put off my reconstructive surgery for 4 years due to the fact that I was going to school for (LVN)License Vocational Nurse, I started my first surgery in June 4th 2009 which was not favorable and had to have a second surgery on Sept, 24th 2009 which was much more complicated and longer recovery (TRAM FLAP) at this point I need a third surgery which will be the last one god willing My Dr. gave me an extension to be off work till after my last surgery which will be in mid Jan 2010, It will throw me off work for about 2-3 more months, which will be almost 9 months all together from when I started my first surgery, I informed my employer and she will not give me any information regarding holding my job, I was informed they will not place me on the same station now as a LVN but I need to know how long legally I can be out off work with out them terminating me, and having to reapply and loose all my benefits? I been with the company for 15 years. What other step can I take,? Do they have the right to withheld information regarding medical extension/and holding my job?
Top Areas of Law


