California  |  Medical Leave

question bubble
12/12/08, 7:43 pm

Legal Question


Finding new employment while on family leave in California

Can I legally accept a new job starting before the end of my 6 week family leave period?


question bubble
12/12/08, 8:04 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Finding new employment while on family leave in California

Sure, as long as you notify the old employer immediate to avoid you being accused of fraud.

Terry A. Nelson

Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
12/15/08, 6:26 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Finding new employment while on family leave in California

You should be aware that if your employer was paying your medical insurance premiums while you were out on FMLA leave, and you decide not to return, you could be required to reimburse your old employer for the amount of those premiums.

Michael Kirschbaum

Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum 2 Park Plaza, Suite 650 Irvine, CA 92614

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search