California  |  Medical Leave

question bubble
5/29/09, 7:15 pm

Legal Question


Fmla

My company is in California with 450 employees. I am in Pennsylvania--in sales-out of my home office. Am I covered under the FMLA by my company? Am I eligible for time off---paid? I have been told no.


question bubble
6/11/09, 2:03 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Fmla

You really should consult an Employment Attorney. This matter is complex and you should not try to do it yourself so you should get an attorney to discuss your options. If you are located in Southern California, you can email me your contact info, so we can discuss your particular situation. There is no charge for consultation

Joseph La Costa

Law Office of Joseph La Costa 7840 Mission Center Court Ste. 104 San Diego, CA 92108

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
6/01/09, 6:45 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Fmla

You have been told correctly. One of the criteria to be eligible for FMLA coverage is there must be at least 50 employees within a 75 mile radius of where you work. If you are the only employee in the area, clearly you do not meet that criteria.

Michael Kirschbaum

Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum 2 Park Plaza, Suite 650 Irvine, CA 92614

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search