California  |  Medical Leave

question bubble
10/28/09, 5:24 pm

Legal Question


I am on intermittent family medical leave and have a condition that leaves unable to function periodically. When I call out for FMLA can my employer call me at home upset and tell me to log onto my laptop to set my out of office on my email when I called out due to my inability to function?


question bubble
11/02/09, 7:36 pm

Legal Answer


Leave means 'no work' , whether full time or periodic leave, unless your doctor will allow it and you agree to it. The company is just pushing to their advantage, you can say no if supported by your doctor. Then, if you are refused accommodation or retaliated against, feel free to contact me to discuss your rights and legal remedies.

Terry A. Nelson

Nelson & Lawless
18685 Main St., #175
Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search