California  |  Medical Leave

Legal Question

Asked on: 3/03/08, 12:22 pm

Laid Off While on Maternity Leave

I work for a CA company with more than 50 employees. I worked there for 6 months before going out on maternity leave. They have laid me off while out on maternity leave. There were 2 other people in my department that have less seniority than me that were kept. Is this legal?

3 Answers


Answered on: 3/03/08, 12:55 pm by Michael Kirschbaum

Re: Laid Off While on Maternity Leave

The answer to your question depends on the reason the employer laid you off. Obviously, if they laid you off because of your maternity leave or some other discriminatory reason, it is not legal. If you were let go for legitimate business reasons, being on maternity leave is no automatic protection.

You should consult with an employment law attorney in your area to help you assess your case and, possibly, get some answers as to the real reason you were laid off.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum 2 Park Plaza, Suite 650 Irvine, CA 92614

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 3/03/08, 1:01 pm by Terry A. Nelson

Re: Laid Off While on Maternity Leave

If you had worked full time for 12 months before going on leave, you would be entitled to pregnancy leave protection. Since you hadn't, you are subject to the same leave standards as anyone else, according to company policy. If you exceeded the allowable leave / missed days, then you could be terminated for that reason.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 3/07/08, 12:53 am by Thomas Pavone

Re: Laid Off While on Maternity Leave

There is no minimum employment period required to qualify for a pregnancy leave under California law. One year of employment (as well as 1250 hours) is required for a leave under the FMLA or CFRA.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Pavone & Cohen 16055 Ventura Boulevard, Suite 1130 Encino, CA 91436

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search