California | Medical Leave
1/20/09, 2:04 pm
Legal Question
leave of absence from work
how long can you stay out of work on a maternity leave or family leave
leave of absence from work
how long can you stay out of work on a maternity leave or family leave
|
Read More Answered By: Terry A. Nelson |
Re: leave of absence from work If and when you are denied legally protected leave, or are illegally discriminated or retaliated against, then you can consider legal claims.
If your CA employer has at least 5 employees, they can not fire you because you are pregnant, must allow you to continue working as long as you are able, must 'reasonably' accommodate your disability, and must allow up to 4 months of unpaid pregnancy leave under FEHA.
If your CA employer has at least 50 employees, and you are employed for at least 12 months, have at least 1,250 hours worked in the 12 months prior to the leave, then you would be eligible for 12 weeks of unpaid FMLA/CFRA maternity/medical leave, continuation of group health benefits, restoration to the same or an equivalent job upon return to work, with accrued benefits.
If you qualify for both, you get both. If you are out longer than those guarantees, they can fire you.
Now, if they violate those rules, contact me for the legal help you'll need.
|
|
Read More Answered By: Joseph La Costa |
Re: leave of absence from work you can stack them to get the longest time, you also can create a tag team situation with a spouse to get more time |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 429
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 353
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Sacramento, CA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-17
San Ramon, CA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-11
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-01
► Laid off while on maternity leave i was laid off while on maternity leave. i was...
► Civil claim can i be declared 2 times guilty for a misdeminor vandalism in a...
► Fmla I have intermittent fmla, I also do alot of dog rescue on the weekends. One day...
► Finding new employment while on family leave in California Can I legally accept a...
► Litigation Where do you find completed litigation case?
► Returning to work after maternity leave i had my baby in sept and my disability...
► Family Medical Leave Act My wife of 40 years has Fiberalgia,and takes a lot of...
More Family Medical Leave Act questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press