California | Medical Leave
Legal Question
I'm not sure if this is quite a Legal question or not, but as I'm trying to sort out all of the details related to my pregnancy and my upcoming layoff, I'm just a bit confused.
I have been notified that I will be laid off on October 1. I am pregnant and due on October 9. This layoff is not a result of discrimination, but due to the fact that the local office of my company is closing.
So now, I am trying to figure out what leaves/disability rules I am entitled to under California law and how those rules work in combination with unemployment and any severance package I may be receiving. Are the typical leaves (FMLA/CRFA) only applicable for me while I'm still employed? Is there anything I'm missing that could help me financially while I'm both unemployed? I was reading about SDI and looks like I have to be employed to receive that as well?
Please help! Thank you!
Legal Answers
Top Areas of Law


