California  |  Medical Leave

question bubble
11/29/05, 3:24 pm

Legal Question


No longer employed?

I Have been Employed for the last 11 yrs at the same location for a large Corporation (estimate 3500 employee's)

I Took Fam Med leave and have 3 weeks left of the 12 weeks provided with a Dr's release.When I contacted the Office that I Manage they state I am no longer employed,and the new manager is (--)are they allowed to replace me?

The only letter I received from the Co,was an aknowledgement of the FML which referred to benefits to be paid,there was no regard to(key)employee status,the letter also stated that I will not be reinstated if I do not provide medical certification.This letter was mailed to me 1 month after starting the leave.

I have complied and submitted all Dr notes and releases to the Co.

I also have spoken to other employee's and Patient's who confirm that they were told I no longer work for the Co

and have been replaced with an new manager.

Am I eligible for unemployment benefits untill I can find new employment?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search