California | Medical Leave
Legal Question
Paid Family Leave & CFRA
I am currently still on my maternity disability and it will be ending soon. I will be also applying for the paid family leave benefit. After the PFL has ended does the C-FRA benefit start, and is it a paid benefit like the PFL is?
Legal Answer
Re: Paid Family Leave & CFRA
No. It is not really paid family leave, it is paid disability leave offered through the state. This law is not intended to extend the length of family or pregnancy leave. Nor is the employer required to pay for the leave, beyond accrued sick and vacation pay.
Leave under the California Family Rights Act, can extend up to 12 weeks to bond with your baby, beyond any time taken off for your pregnancy leave taken as a disability (which can be up to 4 months). But the employer does not have to pay for that time off. They only have to keep your job open for you and continue your health benefits.
Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum 2 Park Plaza, Suite 650 Irvine, CA 92614
► Other answers from this attorney

