California | Medical Leave
Legal Question
prolonged fmla
can fmla be prolonged for more than twelve weeks in a year?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Alden Knisbacher |
Re: prolonged fmla Depending on how your employer defines the "calendar year," in your employee handbook, you may be entitled to more than 12 weeks. If the definition does not use a "rolling" calendar year -- the "year" for purposes of FMLA could be calculated based on your date of hire, or on the calendar year -- and at the end of that year, you would get another 12 weeks. (Your employer might not be aware of the regulations that talk about the definition of a year for purposes of FMLA.) In addition, if you have a disabling condition, the employer might have to provide a further leave period -- beyond your FMLA entitlement (assuming that there is a set return to work date) as a reasonable accommodation for that disabling condition |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Pavone & Cohen
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
The Law Office of Arkady Itkin
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 429
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Knisbacher Law Offices
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 353
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 291
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Barron Law Corporation
Sacramento, CA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-17
Cooper & Mora, A Professional Corporation
San Ramon, CA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-11
Leichter Law Firm, APC
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-01
Search Questions and Answers


