California  |  Federal Tort Claims

question bubble
11/24/09, 6:50 am

Legal Question


Can the federal government be sued for "breach of implied contract?" I know the federal government cannot be sued for interference with contract. But it is my understanding that a breach of contract claim is NOT the same as a tort claim (and, please, correct me if I am wrong). I am asking though if I still need to file a "federal tort claim" to pursue my claim of "breach of implied contract?" Or, can I sue the federal government for breaching a clear implied agreement at all? More, is such a breach of implied agreement a "question of fact" for a jury to decide upon? And, finally, does such a lawsuit have to be filed in the "court of claims?" (This is a lawsuit that would involve many thousands of individuals -- hundreds of thousands, making it a class action if my theory of "breach of implied contract" is legally valid. I will tell you all about it if you are actually interested. But an answer to my question would certainly help me out greatly too.)


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search