California  |  Federal Tort Claims

question bubble
6/20/09, 3:22 pm

Legal Question


Legal Judgement

We are a company based in California that has been wronged by a rogue that we could afford to defend against so a judgement order will be granted against us in GA and they will come to CA to attempt collection. Is there anything we can do to protect our company assets besides BK? Is there a kind of lawyer or service provider that could make the bad guy's life miserable attempting collection. I assure you they are not owed one dime.


question bubble
6/20/09, 3:31 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Legal Judgement

Do you mean "could *not* afford to defend against"? Never just let a default be entered (unless that is a strategy you worked through with an attorney). That said, there is always something you can do until it's all completely over. You say a judgment order "will be granted" so there may be things you can do yet in the GA case too.

I do business law, bankruptcy law, defense work, etc., and I have represented clients from abroad, conducted depositions in Canada, and all sorts of things. Let's discuss all the facts and see what the possibilities might be.

Jerold M. Gorski

Law Offices of Jerold M. Gorski PO Box 60740 Irvine, CA 92602-0740

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
6/20/09, 3:34 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Legal Judgement

I would have rejected your question for insufficient facts. You can't go to court and complain that you were "wronged" by a "rogue."

Michael Stone

Law Offices of Michael B. Stone Toll Free 1-855-USE-MIKE 3020 Old Ranch Parkway, Suite 300 Seal Beach, CA 90740

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search